Originally published on academies.ai: https://academies.ai/guides/ai-course-hours-stated-vs-realistic/

Divide a programme's listed hours by your weekly pace, and do not trust the headline alone: at 5 hours a week, the course lines of the Machine Learning Specialization come to 19.0 weeks (derived) while its FAQ says 10 weeks, and IBM AI Developer comes to 29.2 weeks (derived) against 19.2 to 20.9 weeks (derived) by its headline, as shown in the United States on 2 November 2026. "Real weeks" is arithmetic on provider lines, never learner completion. Across these 12 AI programmes observed in the United States on 2 November 2026, derived time at 5 hours/week spans from 1.6 weeks on Google AI Essentials (8 course-line hours, 2 November 2026) to 42.0 weeks at the top of CS50 AI's edX range (210 hours, 2 November 2026).

Going slower than a programme's headline pace can trigger subscription renewals, trial expirations, or access cutoffs: Coursera subscriptions ($49/month on three programmes as shown in the United States on 2 November 2026) auto-renew until cancelled, and access runs 90 days at Stanford (2 November 2026) and HBS Online (2 November 2026).

Programme (US date) Stated Hours Weeks at 3h (derived) Weeks at 5h (derived) Weeks at 10h (derived) Price Limit
Google AI Essentials (2026-11-02) <5h; <10h, 4h 8 2.7 1.6 0.8 $49/mo (7d trial) Renews (2026-11-02)
Google AI Cert (2026-11-02) 8h; ~1h x 8 13 4.3 2.6 1.3 $49/mo Renews
ML Specialization (2026-11-02) 94h58m; 2mo x 10h; 10wk x 5h 95 31.7 19.0 9.5 $49/mo on Coursera; Pro $25/mo billed annually, $30/mo billed monthly on DeepLearning.AI Renews
Deep Learning (2026-11-02) 3mo x 10h; 24wk x 5h 129 43.0 25.8 12.9 No accepted price FAQ: cannot be taken for free
IBM AI Developer (2026-11-02) 6mo x 4h; 6-8mo x 3-5h 146 48.7 29.2 14.6 No accepted price not stated
IBM AI Workflow (2026-11-02) 2mo x 10h; 35-40h 71 23.7 14.2 7.1 No accepted price not stated
Microsoft AI & ML (2026-11-02) 6mo x 7h; 35-40h/course 176 58.7 35.2 17.6 No accepted price Azure trial expiry
CS50 AI (2026-11-02) 7wk x 10-30h; 10-20h sets 70 to 210 23.3 to 70.0 14.0 to 42.0 7.0 to 21.0 Free OCW; edX no accepted price 30 June 2027
Elements of AI (2026-11-02) 4-8h/part; 6wk 24 to 48, if one part is one chapter, which is our reading 8.0 to 16.0 4.8 to 9.6 2.4 to 4.8 Free none stated
Agentic AI (2026-11-02) 9h55m 9.9 3.3 2.0 1.0 Audit free without assessments or certificate; Pro $25/mo billed annually, $30/mo billed monthly not stated
Stanford Agentic (2026-11-02) 30h; 90d 30 10.0 6.0 3.0 $1,650 + ~$100 90d (>=2.3h/wk); no extension stated
HBS Online AI (2026-11-02) 4wk, 16-24h, 4-6h/mod 16 to 24 5.3 to 8.0 3.2 to 4.8 1.6 to 2.4 $1,949 90d (>=1.2 to 1.9h/wk)

Read the full guide, with every source, on academies.ai: https://academies.ai/guides/ai-course-hours-stated-vs-realistic/