Originally published on academies.ai: https://academies.ai/guides/ai-course-hours-stated-vs-realistic/
Divide a programme's listed hours by your weekly pace, and do not trust the headline alone: at 5 hours a week, the course lines of the Machine Learning Specialization come to 19.0 weeks (derived) while its FAQ says 10 weeks, and IBM AI Developer comes to 29.2 weeks (derived) against 19.2 to 20.9 weeks (derived) by its headline, as shown in the United States on 2 November 2026. "Real weeks" is arithmetic on provider lines, never learner completion. Across these 12 AI programmes observed in the United States on 2 November 2026, derived time at 5 hours/week spans from 1.6 weeks on Google AI Essentials (8 course-line hours, 2 November 2026) to 42.0 weeks at the top of CS50 AI's edX range (210 hours, 2 November 2026).
Going slower than a programme's headline pace can trigger subscription renewals, trial expirations, or access cutoffs: Coursera subscriptions ($49/month on three programmes as shown in the United States on 2 November 2026) auto-renew until cancelled, and access runs 90 days at Stanford (2 November 2026) and HBS Online (2 November 2026).
| Programme (US date) | Stated | Hours | Weeks at 3h (derived) | Weeks at 5h (derived) | Weeks at 10h (derived) | Price | Limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Google AI Essentials (2026-11-02) | <5h; <10h, 4h | 8 | 2.7 | 1.6 | 0.8 | $49/mo (7d trial) | Renews (2026-11-02) |
| Google AI Cert (2026-11-02) | 8h; ~1h x 8 | 13 | 4.3 | 2.6 | 1.3 | $49/mo | Renews |
| ML Specialization (2026-11-02) | 94h58m; 2mo x 10h; 10wk x 5h | 95 | 31.7 | 19.0 | 9.5 | $49/mo on Coursera; Pro $25/mo billed annually, $30/mo billed monthly on DeepLearning.AI | Renews |
| Deep Learning (2026-11-02) | 3mo x 10h; 24wk x 5h | 129 | 43.0 | 25.8 | 12.9 | No accepted price | FAQ: cannot be taken for free |
| IBM AI Developer (2026-11-02) | 6mo x 4h; 6-8mo x 3-5h | 146 | 48.7 | 29.2 | 14.6 | No accepted price | not stated |
| IBM AI Workflow (2026-11-02) | 2mo x 10h; 35-40h | 71 | 23.7 | 14.2 | 7.1 | No accepted price | not stated |
| Microsoft AI & ML (2026-11-02) | 6mo x 7h; 35-40h/course | 176 | 58.7 | 35.2 | 17.6 | No accepted price | Azure trial expiry |
| CS50 AI (2026-11-02) | 7wk x 10-30h; 10-20h sets | 70 to 210 | 23.3 to 70.0 | 14.0 to 42.0 | 7.0 to 21.0 | Free OCW; edX no accepted price | 30 June 2027 |
| Elements of AI (2026-11-02) | 4-8h/part; 6wk | 24 to 48, if one part is one chapter, which is our reading | 8.0 to 16.0 | 4.8 to 9.6 | 2.4 to 4.8 | Free | none stated |
| Agentic AI (2026-11-02) | 9h55m | 9.9 | 3.3 | 2.0 | 1.0 | Audit free without assessments or certificate; Pro $25/mo billed annually, $30/mo billed monthly | not stated |
| Stanford Agentic (2026-11-02) | 30h; 90d | 30 | 10.0 | 6.0 | 3.0 | $1,650 + ~$100 | 90d (>=2.3h/wk); no extension stated |
| HBS Online AI (2026-11-02) | 4wk, 16-24h, 4-6h/mod | 16 to 24 | 5.3 to 8.0 | 3.2 to 4.8 | 1.6 to 2.4 | $1,949 | 90d (>=1.2 to 1.9h/wk) |
Read the full guide, with every source, on academies.ai: https://academies.ai/guides/ai-course-hours-stated-vs-realistic/
